By Daniel Amule

The election of the 9th Archbishop of the Church of Uganda is slated to take place on Wednesday, 28th August 2019. The press conference to announce the Archbishop Elect will be also take place on Wednesday, 28th August at 12 noon in the Provincial Office of the Church of Uganda, Namirembe.

 The House of Bishops is the body that elects the Archbishop. The House of Bishops is comprised of all active Diocesan and Assistant Bishops. There are 38 Bishops in the House of Bishops. The Provincial Chancellor presides over the election.

 The constitutional requirements regarding Archbishops of the Church of Uganda is that an Archbishop can serve only for ten years and no more.

They can only serve until their 65th birthday. At the age of 65 an Archbishop must retire, even if he has served less than his ten-year term.

To be elected an Archbishop, you must be a Bishop in the Church of Uganda and at least 50 years old.

All Dioceses must have Bishops. There can be no vacant dioceses.

There are 37 Diocesan Bishops currently serving in the Church of Uganda with only 33 of the Bishops eligible to become Archbishop.

Archbishop Stanley Ntagali is retiring after only seven and a half years of service because Archbishop Stanley was elected and enthroned as Archbishop on 18th December 2012 at the age of 57. He turns 65 years old on 1st March 2020 and that is the mandatory age of retirement.

After the election, the person elected is referred to as the “Archbishop-elect.” He will not officially become the Archbishop until he is enthroned (installed) as the Archbishop, which will take place on Sunday, 1st March 2020 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

The current Archbishop is currently engaged in a farewell tour, visiting all 37 dioceses in the Church of Uganda to say good-bye. The Archbishop-elect will say farewell to his current diocese. The current diocese of the Archbishop-elect will prepare to elect a new Bishop.

An Archbishop automatically serves as the Diocesan Bishop of Kampala Diocese as well as Archbishop of the entire Church of Uganda. So, Kampala Diocese will say farewell to their Bishop and prepare to receive a new Bishop, who is also the Archbishop.

The previous Archbishops of Church of Uganda

1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary, was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)

8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020)

The Christians should be praying fervently for a smooth transition and for God’s will to be done in the election. End